I am so honoured to be nominated for the Bloggers Recognition Award by the lovely Vanessa from WanderlustPlusOne, who blogs about her family’s incredible travels around the world. I love her very personal style of writing, combined with great photos which really feel like you are part of the adventure!

bra

The rules for accepting this award as follows.

  1. Give thanks to the person who had nominated you and a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Briefly tell how you started blogging.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.
  6. Comment on the nominated blogs and let them know you have nominated them and give a link to the post you have created.

How I started blogging

I actually first tried my hand at blogging around five years ago, writing some guest blog posts for the British Science Association, who had just sponsored me to attend their annual Science Festival. At this point, I was running a website (now STEMBoost) which promoted science events for young people – and so I started up a small blog section on that too, which sadly never really took off… Move forward a few years though, and I started a year abroad in China – which was where this blog came from, recording my travels and experiences there.

Two pieces of advice for new bloggers

  1. Write about what you’re passionate about, not because a particular topic is more popular/ related to your major/ likely to make you more money. If you’re not passionate about it, you’ll not have the motivation to keep it up.
  2. Be experimental and try new things – try out different styles of blog posts, do a video blog, write informative articles as well as personal updates, even try writing in a different language (note to self: do more of this)! These are great ways to reach out to new readers, develop your own skills and writing style, and make your blog more interesting.

My 15 nominees

The Insatiable Traveller – great travel posts and LOADS of awesome photography, I’ve really learnt a lot of fantastic advice!

Marta Lives in China – one of my true inspirations, Marta blogs about her travels and we seem to have very similar passions.

Where Monica Goes – as well as travel updates, I love the great informative/ advice posts Monica writes.

Travelling the World Solo – Ellen has some fantastic advice and is a true inspiration for solo female travellers! I also love how honest she is about both positive and negative experiences, and what she has learnt from them.

Sue’s Fabulous Travels – originally blogging about her life in China, now she posts some great travel updates from around the world. I really love her more personal style and the awesome food pics!

The Nomad’s Project – she writes some super lovely updates about travels around Europe in particular, with fantastic photographs and the odd travel tip.

Get Set and Go – Snigdha has travelled to so many countries all around the world, and has some particularly fantastic photo essays, definitely worth checking out!

Travelling Matters – Sue and Mel are genuinely passionate about their travel adventures and the concept of a “travel hand print”. I love how their blog posts speak directly to you just as if we were having a conversation – a truly engaging writing style.

Adventures on the Run – a really fantastic travel blog, with awesome travel guides and “top 10” type lists.

Love Travelling – the self-styled “Little Miss Traveller” writes fantastic blog posts about her adventures, particularly around Europe. I really enjoy hearing her personal opinions of each sight and even just discussions about where they went for coffee!

Maria in Japan – Maria is currently studying abroad for a year in Japan at Kobe University, and I really enjoy reading updates on what she has been up to. Japan’s on my bucket list (hopefully for later this year!) so definitely a blog to keep an eye on!

The Travels of Tom – Tom blogs about his travels (particularly around Asia) working as a teacher. His blog posts have a very friendly, low-key feel to them – just chatting about his experiences and opinions, which is very refreshing!

101 Monkey Magic – Melisa writes exciting posts about her travels, culture, art and photography. I really enjoy her more informative posts, illustrated with plenty of fantastic pictures.

Zo Around the World – a fantastic travel blogger, Zoe writes really useful and informative articles giving travel tips, guides and “top 10” type lists. She’s been to countries all over the world, and has a genuinely fun, friendly writing style!

Borderless Sisters – sisters Megan and Ashley travel around the world, volunteering and sharing their experiences. I love their longer, detailed posts filled with great pictures and enthusiasm – really a joy to read!

The Finicky Cynic – Rebbit7 literally writes about anything and everything, and I love it! If you want to read random posts on travel, music, poetry or general musics definitely a blog to check out – keeps me entertained for hours!

I just recounted and realised I accidentally nominated 16 of you, but I LOVE YOU ALL! We’ll just leave the bonus number 16 one in there and hope no-one notices… 😉

I genuinely really love to read all of these blogs (I wouldn’t nominate them otherwise!) so if you’re interested in any of the topics mentioned definitely do check them out! Comment below to congratulate your favourites or let us know of anyone you think I’ve missed of this list.

19 thoughts on “Bloggers Recognition Award!

Leave a Reply

